1 Comment

Desperation All Around

Morning to you all. It seems that wherever you go, the Arsenal stays a part of you. This rings true for fans, staff and players alike, but a line has to be drawn somewhere.

I’m all for loyalty and undying support for your club, but sometimes I just feel like these statements made can be seen as last-ditch attempts to grab people’s attention before they fade from everyone’s memory. Take Cesc Fabregas for example. He’s realized that riding the pine at Barça isn’t what he wants to be doing at 25 years old, and I don’t blame him. If he wanted easy trophies, ridiculous wages and a guaranteed starting spot, he should have gone to Zenit.

‘There’s no such thing as a great substitute in the world of football.”

“I couldn’t tell you what makes a great substitute.”

“I always wish my team-mates well and put a happy face on.”

“If I have to take my unhappy face home then so be it, but I would never let my team-mates or manager see it.”

[Daily Mail]

Oh, boo-hoo. I’ll always have a soft spot for Cesc Fabregas, he was immense for us at times. But to come out and complain about returning to the club that froze you out at youth level, I mean what else did you expect? He’s been surplus to their requirements since the moment he signed that contract. I’m sorry Cesc, you’ve brought your problems upon yourself. At Arsenal, you were a hero, a shining example of the little boy who could. You were someone who we as Arsenal fans were dumb enough to look up to, because in the end, you turned out the same as everyone else; dishonest and disloyal. You refused to play for us, you even went AWOL to watch a F1 race when you were “injured”, because obviously we weren’t important enough. This isn’t how you treat the club who made you, let alone the coach that had faith in your from day one. Arsène took you from zero to hero overnight, placing faith in you among a team of superstars. Hell, you forced out some of the best midfielders to every play for the club as an unproven talent! All because Arsène had faith in you from the beginning when no one else would.

Despite my bitterness, I would lop off my left arm to have him back in the red and white. In my eyes, he’s the best player we’ve produced, because he came here as a 16-year-old with no senior experience prior. I wouldn’t want him back because he’s unhappy at Barça, I’d have him back because with him in the team, we’d have the best midfield in the Premier League, bar none. Right now, I think we’re close, but you can’t compare many to Cesc. For me, he’s the third best in the world, and his problem is he’s at the back of the pecking order which contain the two players better than him in his position. He’s had his chance, and he’s probably never coming back. A sad and somewhat preventable turn of events.

Enough of unimportant players, and back to those who actually want to succeed at Arsenal Football Club. While I’ve never seen anything in Craig Eastmond, he seems convinced he still has a shot at making it here. Call me a skeptic, cynic, whatever; Craig Eastmond is only half as good as Henri Lansbury, and he was recently sold to Nottingham Forest. However, Mr. Eastmond figures his versatility could play a big part in his potential success at the Emirates.

“I used to be a right back when I was young, before the boss asked me to move to midfield because he thought I was better there,” Eastmond told Arsenal.com after Monday night’s Under-21 victory over Everton.

“It’s good to play in different positions, because you never know, someone might get injured and you can go and do a job.”

“I’m always confident and I’m ready to take my chance with both hands when the boss gives me an opportunity.”

It’ll take more than being a human Swiss Army knife to break into the team, Mr. Eastmond. Ask Francis Coquelin and Nico Yennaris. Still, I’m glad he’s determined to give it a go. We have done worse in the past, think Jay-Emmanuel Thomas. He seemed quite content at going on loan and playing reserve football. Lax players get cut, simple as that. Hopefully Eastmond can prove me wrong, but I have my doubts.

That’s it for today, not too much to talk about as the international break kicks off.

Until tomorrow.

Follow me on Twitter: @MarshallArsenal

And you can also follow the site on Twitter too @Football247Now is where its at for the latest football news, site content and much more!

One comment on “Desperation All Around

  1. Excellent article mate! I completely agree with your views on Eastmond, in all honesty he is NOT good enough to be at Arsenal!

Leave a Reply

